Search This Blog

Sunday, July 31, 2011

Boot systems into different runlevels manually

There are total following number of run-levels
Runlevel 0 - Halt
Runlevel 1 - Single User mode.
Runlevel 2 - This is basic functions, multi-user mode, without any networking.
Runlevel 3 - This is what servers usually run in, as it provides all of the services of the normal server, without the graphical user interface.
Runlevel 4 - For future use
Runlevel 5 - GUI mode
Runlevel 6 - Reboot

Command to be given is
#init no.
where no is from 0 to 6

No comments: